TRIBUTE

When I went to the vets’ today to get some medication for Sam, I heard a song playing lightly in the background. I heard a nice melody, and these three words: “Lay me down…” Now I am a lover of music, and I pretty much love anything with great lyrics. I came home, ate, sat down and decided to Google the song. I came up with Tim McGraw’s song, “If You’re Reading This”. I therefore spent the rest of my afternoon crying buckets of tears. I don’t have to have anyone I am close to serving in the military to be touched by this. The fact that Martin had been in it for six years hit close to home. Thank you to all those who sacrifice their lives doing a job most people wouldn’t volunteer for.

“If you’re reading this, there is going to come a day
You move on and find someone else and that’s okay
Just remember this
I’m in a better place
Where soldiers live in peace and angels sing amazing grace…

So lay me down, in that open field out on the edge of town…
And know my soul, is where my Momma always prayed where it would go…
If you’re reading this,
I’m already home.”

Leave a Reply

